The wonderful world of fashion/trends I simply don’t get

I read Vogue. I have a monthly subscription, in fact. Once I have a fresh edition, I will spread it out on my desk (feeling like Miranda Priestly) and read EVERY PAGE because I’m sure as hell getting my money’s worth.

Apparently the economy isn’t doing too well, not sure though.

The truth is, I’m not fashion-mad. I just enjoy ogling the prices and extraordinary clothes that are draped artistically over an airbrushed model’s skeletal frame. The weirder, the more expensive. Only someone with more money than sense would be willing to buy/wear these.

Looks like a cross between Wednesday Adams and a Geisha.

The-Wizard-Look

Source www.womenzmag.com

If you squeeze her, you’ll get cactus juice. Or a purple face.

weird-fashion-trends04

Source www.interestingspree.com

Even by the time they’ve been diluted down to the high street, some trends, I just don’t get.

Here are a few examples, 2 male and 2 female:

  • Meggings.

If you haven’t heard of these, congrats, you have never had to endure it.

In a nutshell, leggings for men. Yep, you heard. Not yet paired with Uggs and a messy top bun but it’s early days.

Think of jockeys. And bulges. I won’t be graphic, but it’s a visual form of Paris Hilton’s singing career. Got you cringing now 🙂

He looks appropriately uncomfortable.

ap060628042222

www.thebounce.ca

  • Men wearing deep V necks

JLS wannabes who take pride in flashing their pecs. You just look like arrogant bastards, especially when coupled with a Bieber haircut and aviators. Why.

It’s the same with women’s cleavage I guess, but that’s still a bit cocky.

No prejudice against asians, but this was the worst picture I could find.

2013-men-s-clothing-fashion-male-multi-color-deep-v-neck-short-sleeve-T-shirt-slim.jpg_250x250

www.aliexpress.com

Ok. The gals:

  • Revealing dresses. Then you moan about all the attention you’re getting.

If you like the attention, absolutely fine, thank you for admitting it. Wear it, flaunt it, whatever.  However, if you’re going to flash your nips in a sheer dress then complain about guys leering at you, THEN WHY DID YOU WEAR IT? Guys like boobs. Unless you’ve been living under a rock then you knew what was going to happen when you put it on. Stop. I don’t get why you are making a fuss.

I have no words.

wedding-gown-tacky-ties-1

http://www.tackyweddings.com

  • Hipster slogan T-shirts.

Same for guys on this one, I’m afraid, but mostly us girls. Topshop is BIG on this.

You walk in a there will be racks (no pun intended) of slogans that say ‘Geek’ or ‘Nerd’ or ‘Wasted Youth’ on knitted jumpers or tiny vest tops. As a self confessed geek, all the people who I see wearing said slogans are the same. And aren’t geeks. I dount that they’ve ever watched an entire season of Game of Thrones in one sitting. So hah.

This is shameful.

a2022d04m

www.ebay.com

These are just a select few of my most hated trends. I’ve tried to keep it short or else I’ll be here all day. Which would be ok as it’s raining and I need milk, so tromping out to get ONE thing isn’t worth it. My tea will be as black as the clouds outside…

Well that’s it for now. Until next time and I complain about something else. Ok rant over.

If you hate anything fashionable, let me know 🙂

BYE x

 

Leave a comment